Mothers’ Day

Let’s be honest: Mothers rock. I know many amazing mothers, but none so amazing as one Miz Momma Ro. I have a very long list of things to thank her for, so I’ll just mention the highlights here and leave the rest for the [admittedly, belated] card she’s receiving:

1. Mom, thanks so much for always supporting me no matter what I do, no matter how idiotic or headstrong it may seem, and making an effort to help me learn from my mistakes. I’ve always used you as a model when advising my friends and feel like I have stronger relationships because of that. Also thanks for standing up to Ms Hawkins for me when I was in second grade. I think you know what I mean.

2. Thank you immensely for being an example of a strong, smart, driven woman who doesn’t take shit from anybody. My feminism is certainly rooted in the surprise I felt when I realized that not all moms raise their daughters to be outspoken, opinionated and brainy.

3. Finally, thanks for always taking exceptional care of me, including pushing me when I need tough love and making me a heating pad out of a sock when I have a stomacheache. And for all the times I woke you in the middle of the night, all the hospital visits (there haven’t been many, but still) and every other ounce of love you’ve given me, in sickness and in health.

Me and my momma, 1987-ish:

❤ you Momma! – C

Leave a Reply

